top of page
Search

Vigil 2021

I wrote this piece for Saturday Vigil (4/3/2021). There was a lack of suitably depressing music to use for the Vigil service at church, so I wrote some. I figured what was more depressing than doom metal music? I think this tune accurately captures the despondence felt by Christ's disciples prior to His resurrection the following day. This track will likely be the calm beginning of a short EP. For now, enjoy the demo!





For those who are curious, doom music is characterized by plodding tempos and a general sense of sadness and impending disaster. (usually) Check out Paramaecium's album "Exhumed of the Earth" for a good look at the heavier side of doom.


The gear used for recording this was as follows:

DAW: Reaper

Guitars: Ibanez RG7321FM (7 string)

Ibanez S8 (8 string)

LTD B-205 (5 string bass)

Drums: Ministry of Rock 2

Amps: Engl Ironball 20

Le Pou amp sims


I'm looking forward to breaking out the fuzz pedal for the heavier parts yet to be written! It will be HEAVY, especially combined with the S8. More to come! Thanks for listening!


Guitars and bass performed by me.

Video by me as well.

Copyright © 2021 Nathan C. Curtis Music. All rights reserved.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page